the Rainbow Networks
+++eXy FFA
Map: uberkill
Players: 2 / 24
The golden pot › RAINBOW NETWORKS › Tech & Support › Broken textures!
Broken textures!
Something wrong with our servers or your system?
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexTech & Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:21 pm    Post subject: Broken textures! Reply with quote

I have a lot of broken textures. For example, on the map Ohnoe (or something) I had NO textures working.. I then downloaded freeq3.com texture pack, and the only difference turned out to be the loading image for the map!!

Im running windows XP and (not being used to windoze) I noticed that I have two directories for oa.

D:\openarena-0.8.1\
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\OpenArena <- WTF!!

Anyway. Where to place stuff?? All autodownloads go to C:\BLABLA but when I added a cfg to D:\openarena-0.8.1\ it loads fine.

So which should I use? Or is it as bad as I fear that I can (and must!) use both paths in this terrible system?

Thanks in advance!

/Richard

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

All auto downloads go to C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\OpenArena. Put the pk3 in C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\OpenArena\baseoa

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

Best way to think of it... put common things like that in baseoa... means it is shared with all mods.

Now if its a pure server and that doesnt have it, the file simply wont load.. so there are no bad effects with pure servers.

Always use the q3free.com one. That will get updated one more time when it's complete. Then it won't change again... probably wont be done for a while.

Yesterday I downloaded the texture pak on Nemesis but I was sure I had it. I noticed it was slightly different so I hope they havent went and edited shit in it. It's more likely I've edited mine which forced the download :D
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

btw... i think the reason why there are two baseoa files is because of the way servers are started with the fs_game parameters. This causes map downloads to appear there. Also, there is no installation with OA so they have to have the baseoa folder in the same location as the exe.
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

just put everything in %APPDATA%/OpenArena/baseoa/.
What is done is:

- connecting:
- texture pak required:
- client checks in %APPDATA%/OpenArena/baseoa/, if not found:
- client chekcs in %APPDATA%/OpenArena/<MODNAME>, if not found:
- download it

so if you just put the texture pak in baseoa folder, it will be used by all Mods as well, and you dont have to download it 500000 times. thats why its also a good idea, to put all your maps & models there as well!

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

Well I did put the freeQ3 thing in baseoa in Documents and Settings... I also installed cpma but no improvement.

Still broken textures.

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

Did you unzip it and put the pk3 file in baseoa?
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

YES. The pk3 and some other file that was there.

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

What server are you connecting to?
Back to top
View user's profile
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

chiquita wrote:
What server are you connecting to?

to a pure server that doesn't have that pak ?

did u try to add a z-(prefix) or zz-(prefix) to the texture pack for non pure servers ( so the pak will be loaded as the last ) ?
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

I think there is a z- in the gpl tex pak.

Note: Some people may have issues, but there are as many noob admins out there who cause you issues. Especially on OA since i learned ppl run servers from their garden yard.
Back to top
View user's profile
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

chiquita wrote:
I think there is a z- in the gpl tex pak.

Yes ... it has ... I didn't realize u were talking about exactly that pak.
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 10:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

z-gpl-q3a2oa-textures-v5.pk3 is the true texture pkg

gpl-q3a2oa-textures.pk3 is jacks one with the plain textures.

hm.. So stick both of these is baseoa. I'm not going to include the plain texture pak cos I have about 20 mods with the same file in it. 469kb it says.. search for that file and put it in baseoa
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

The server i mostly play on is RN | CPM 081 Fastest (or something).

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken textures! Reply with quote

Memory usage could cause loss of textures

Upset Chaps recommendations:

Default Settings
seta com_hunkmegs "56"
seta com_soundmegs "8"
seta com_zonemegs "16"

128 Megabytes
seta com_hunkmegs "64"
seta com_soundmegs "16"
seta com_zonemegs "24"

160 Megabytes
seta com_hunkmegs "76"
seta com_soundmegs "24"
seta com_zonemegs "32"

192 Megabytes
seta com_hunkmegs "96"
seta com_soundmegs "24"
seta com_zonemegs "32"

256+ Megabytes
seta com_hunkmegs "128"
seta com_soundmegs "32"
seta com_zonemegs "32"

... if your specs are higher... when you enter a map, do a..

/condump mapname.txt

This will show you any errors and why they havent loaded.

Do it for each map. Some maps will have missing textures, thats normal.

It will also show you the loading of the paks in sequence. These files will be big so maybe put them in a folder and upload as a zip if you cant figure whats wrong. Many defrag maps have custom textures which are very detailed so that could be a reason why it happens especially in defrag.
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Tech & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 50
Total: 50
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: The golden pot
02: The golden pot
03: The golden pot
04: The golden pot
05: My Account
06: The golden pot
07: The golden pot
08: The golden pot
09: The golden pot
10: The golden pot
11: My Account
12: The golden pot
13: The golden pot
14: The golden pot
15: The golden pot
16: The golden pot
17: The golden pot
18: The golden pot
19: The golden pot
20: The golden pot
21: The golden pot
22: The golden pot
23: Maps
24: The golden pot
25: Rainbow Media
26: The golden pot
27: The golden pot
28: The golden pot
29: Maps
30: The golden pot
31: Maps
32: The golden pot
33: The golden pot
34: The golden pot
35: The golden pot
36: The golden pot
37: The golden pot
38: The golden pot
39: The golden pot
40: The golden pot
41: The golden pot
42: Home
43: My Account
44: The golden pot
45: My Account
46: Home
47: Rainbow Media
48: The golden pot
49: The golden pot
50: The golden pot

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin