the Rainbow Networks
+++eXy FFA
Map: bal3dm4
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › RAINBOW NETWORKS › Tech & Support › Quake3 texture problem
Quake3 texture problem
Something wrong with our servers or your system?
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexTech & Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:24 pm    Post subject: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Even with r_colorbits 32, r_depthbits 32, r_picmip 0, cg_nomip 0, r_ext_compressed_textures 0 and r_texturemode GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR my textures look really ugly.

(The upper screen is what it looks ingame for me, had to take it with PrintScreen-key and paste it in paint, because the screenshots generated by F11, shows normal textures. The lower screenshot is the shot generated by /screenshotJPEG).

ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, Omegadrivers (latest) with all settings to quality







_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 2:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Brought this to attention to a larger crowd. So keep looking at that thread. :)

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Thanks snoo, still awaiting replies.
Here is a screenshot that might make it even clearer what the problem is.
Don't wonder about the colors, i took the shot with r_colorMipLevels enabled to make it easier to see. It looks almost like 8bit Colordepth...




_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 6:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Yeah, you sure your texture depth is set to 32?

EDIT: Some developments here. Try one of those suggested ones.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:16 am    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Thanks Snoo. Could you ask, which driver for a good old Radeon 9800 pro would be best performance-wise under WinXP? I'd go for the old 8.11 RC1 as adviced then...

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 9:31 am    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

I guess you should try both 8.11 and 9.8...

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

hello snoo,

i've tried the 8.11 catalyst drivers. they didn't fix the named problem at all. they offer a few more features than omegadrivers, but also use a lot more ressources (especially RAM), deliver slightly less performance than the omegadrivers and don't support all widescreen resolutions. for instance 1280x800 was working well with omegadrivers, however with the catalyst drivers in fullscreen mode the window was like 1280x600ish with a big stripe of the desktop. setting it to strech-to-fit-option didnt fix this either.
here are performance results:

Omegadrivers:
Quake3Bench (Timedemo 1): 169,1 fps
OpenArenaBench (Timedemo 1): 182,0 fps

Catalyst 8.11:
Quake3Bench (Timedemo 1): 162,1 fps (135,6 fps with max quality)
OpenArenaBench (Timedemo 1): 177,2 fps

since it didn't fix the problem and most of my HDresolutions aren't supported, i went back to the omegadrivers.

i really don't know what's causing the texture-problem thou. :(

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

Its probably a hardware issue then. Check temperatures with gpu-z.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:25 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

gpu-z did not detect any temperature-sensors on my system. probably because none are connected.

artifact tester however reported 0 errors, i dont know...
(it reported plenty of artifacts on my last broken gf2mx - i have to UNDERCLOCK its vram by like 25% to get it to work properly :/ )

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:11 am    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

I'd still advise you to take the heatsink off and reapply thermal paste. It probably has just a thermal pad that gets all nonconductive in time. Clean the gpu and the heatsink and put some new paste on. Not too thick and not too thin.

You could also try everest if it detects any gpu temps.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

CPU 31 °C (88 °F)
HD1 30 °C (86 °F)

no gpu temp-sensor present.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
PopeJo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Oct 05, 2007
Posts: 931
Location: precise!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 4:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

is it your new monitor then? maybe it is just too big, you know?
and the poor small textures can't keep up with it. :s

_________________
LOGIC, n.
The art of thinking and reasoning in strict accordance with the limitations and incapacities of the human misunderstanding. (Devil's dictionary)
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

i've sent it back after 3 days and went for an ordinary 22". it had backlight bleeding, and it was too big to work on it comfortable and it seemed kinda dekadent to myself. (the size was good to watch movies thou)

well doesn't matter i cant play fps games in winter anyway. :(

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

That sucks :(

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Joki
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Apr 16, 2008
Posts: 1037
Location: at tiled stove

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:34 am    Post subject: Re: Quake3 texture problem Reply with quote

wow i just fixed it partially!

i changed the r_displayrefresh 85 (it was from my config before i switched to TFT monitor and it will enforce 85hz refresh rate) to r_displayrefresh 0 (use video driver default refresh rate). here is the result



notice how in the upper picture the sky consists of like 5 different colours and the wall of like 4. really didnt know this could be a result of this setting.

i should clean up all the enforced refresh rates for all resolutions set in my regisitry viá RefreshForce to fix this problem also in other games. =)


however what stays is that textures still look compressed when viewed from close range, like this:


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Tech & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 27
Total: 27
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: The golden pot
02: Home
03: Rainbow Media
04: The golden pot
05: The golden pot
06: Home
07: The golden pot
08: The golden pot
09: The golden pot
10: The golden pot
11: The golden pot
12: The golden pot
13: The golden pot
14: Home
15: The golden pot
16: Home
17: The golden pot
18: The golden pot
19: The golden pot
20: The golden pot
21: The golden pot
22: The golden pot
23: The golden pot
24: Home
25: The golden pot
26: The golden pot
27: The golden pot

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin