the Rainbow Networks
+++eXy FFA
Map: overkill
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › DEV › Maps, Models and Mods › Redo OA?
Redo OA?
There are worlds waiting to be explored and objects to be made. Enjoy.
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexMaps, Models and Mods
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Replacement grenade sounds if anyone wants to try them.

The grenade hitting the floor is actually the OA default hit sound. I tried to take out as much hiss/distortion as possible.

The fire sound is the original OA sound but added deep compression, used strawberry swirl effect through it and distorted the first few millisecs to give it a kick effect.



pak9.pk3
 Description:
 Filename:  pak9.pk3
 Filesize:  226.99 KB
 Downloaded:  133 Time(s)
Back to top
View user's profile
Speaker
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Mar 10, 2009
Posts: 57
Location: Szeged, Hungary

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:53 am    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

chiquita wrote:

One thing I would think would be good is to have a seperate pak of maps.. perhaps even popular ones and the old q3 remakes, which would be compatible with the textures. I've downloaded a couple when doing the textures (like overkill for eg) and the files are small since it doesnt need the extra textures.. and then cram a good number of maps into a small file (10mb for ex).


I do have a collection of nice custom maps (see an older post of mine in this topic). They vary in size (from 310 KB to 7 MB). I just have to move them to freeq3 (right now they are in a single archive on my WEB site) and make links for download. I will do it during the weekend. Maybe a nice index with screen shots and links to reviews. We shall see... :)

Please, give me links (names) of those small maps you have found so that I can test them and include the better ones in the collection.

As for including maps in the base distro, I don't think that it is necessary or desirable. Iirc we have decided that maps should be collected in a repository and everybody takes what she/he thinks is good. Q3MIN has one map just for a quick play test after downloading. It is 'ztn3dm1' now but I will try to find a good GPLed map as a substitute, to keep things simple.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Update: I have added the Openarena map 'aggressor' to pak0.pk3 and removed 'ztn3dm1' from the package. Now everything in the Q3MIN archive is strictly GPL.

_________________
0
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:52 am    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

And still about QL : they are focused on their infrastructure , they don't care too much of the quality of the clients but they care for sure of teh quantity of them.

I've "taken" this from a QL developer (TTimo) blog : there are 5 consoles running htop in the remote systems ... if u pay attention at it u can see that every machine is a double quad ( 8 CPU ) and it has 16 GB of RAM

EDIT : argh ... it's too big

EDIT2 : ok ... look at it here -> h t t p : //ttimo(dot)vox(dot)com/library/post/my-quakelive-dashboard.html
Back to top
View user's profile
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:34 am    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

kernel_panic wrote:

The game most likely sits in the home directory anyway, so it doesn't get wiped out between installs. To put the game in another location _you_ actually have to log in as root to write where you shouldn't. And I don't know about you, but I don't install another OS and/or wipe my HD since...well, since I installed Debian 2 years ago. However, during that time I had to sort out the ~/.oabase directory countless times, struggled to get the right settings with Gtkradiant and even had to write a stupid launch script to avoid overwriting the settings between versions. Thankyouverymuch.

Passing +set fs_homepath "~/.newbaseoa" to the commandline or through a script could help to deal with that. U can use at least one different fs_homepath for every version and/or for Gtkradiant .... or for testing a new version without breaking your old user settings.

kernel_panic wrote:

Heh, I don't know how you sensed it, but I AM considering to get a Mac.

Get it if u can ... u will have less frustration for sure ( and I'm not ironic , sarcastic ... ect ... just get it if u can :) )

U will have a certified UNIX system and a powerfull desktop system :
- www.apple.com/macosx/technology/
- www.unix.org/

Many ppl ignores this but MacOSX is the results of different projects (the kernel is a derivative of Mach 3.0 microkernel and OSF 1.0 system from which has inherited the FreeBSD layer integrated in OSF as a Mach interface ... the windows system is a derivative project of the NextStep, OpenStep commercial projects )

kernel_panic wrote:

It's been 3 years already hearing how things will improve in this respect--i.e., the total time I've been using linux. My card is 5 years old and it works suboptimally--so much so that I installed XP solely to play OA. My laptop's life is approaching its end. Excuse me if I don't hold my breath about anything in this front.

2 things :
- Linux development is slower than Windows development and every development section (kernel, new drivers, base utils , X, x-driver ... ) has a real uniform test only when the single parts are integrated in one or more linux distribution. In few words : the development process suffers of a HIGH fragmentation.
- Windows makes ( or made , since with W7 they seem to break a little this tendency ) hardware too old soon for 2 reason : 1 -> the hardware is used at 120/130 per cent even if the system is doing nothing special. 2 -> for every new release the minimum sys req...s are always doubled or quadrupled .... while with linux ( or with freebsd ,or with any other *NIX development system ) your hardware could have a looooooooonger life and u can run them on a low-end machine without any particular problem.

:harr: :harr: :harr:


Last edited by Falkland on Sat Aug 01, 2009 3:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

its ok - its fixed..

just do

/com_blood 0

:)

only jk but after i set that at 1 I could see it. god how long did you spend looking for a flaw. I even had to go into rocket mode and use zoom to see the gibs :D

Well I will continue with the textures, that includes improving them if I can. I really like the quick loading so I guess it can't be taking up that much resources.

One thing I would think would be good is to have a seperate pak of maps.. perhaps even popular ones and the old q3 remakes, which would be compatible with the textures. I've downloaded a couple when doing the textures (like overkill for eg) and the files are small since it doesnt need the extra textures.. and then cram a good number of maps into a small file (10mb for ex).

the doc had ones that were really nice on the old osp server.. I think they used mostly the gothic textures but I'm just used to the standard q3 maps. ofc other maps are popular but might contain their own textures which will increase the file size so I guess someone familiar with the custom maps might be able to suggest a few and there could be a mix of popular maps in one small'ish pk3 file?
Back to top
View user's profile
Speaker
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Mar 10, 2009
Posts: 57
Location: Szeged, Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

SnooSnoo wrote:
Is noone interested in the textureless liver? o.O

Have not had the time to do anything about it. BTW, it is probably as chiquita says: a stale texture remaining from Jack's old package. Will not be easy to find. Please, be patient. :)

Speaker

_________________
0
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
kernel_panic
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 28, 2007
Posts: 751
Location: uk

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Ahhh...nothing like the smell of a flame in the morning.

Quote::
Quote::
kernel_panic wrote:
Yeah...so what? How does that justify the inconvenience of having the game data separated in two different locations?

Maybe because u can obtain always a clean installation while wiping the user dir instead of the WHOLE install dir ?

The game most likely sits in the home directory anyway, so it doesn't get wiped out between installs. To put the game in another location _you_ actually have to log in as root to write where you shouldn't. And I don't know about you, but I don't install another OS and/or wipe my HD since...well, since I installed Debian 2 years ago. However, during that time I had to sort out the ~/.oabase directory countless times, struggled to get the right settings with Gtkradiant and even had to write a stupid launch script to avoid overwriting the settings between versions. Thankyouverymuch.

Quote::
This is not a issue ... this is a DEFECT , but none seems to treat that as a defect.

It is, and also one of the reasons I didn't bother with QL beyond testing it a couple of times. I mean, WTF? This is 2009 and people is still coding shit that needs administrative rights to run properly.

Quote::
Why don't u get a Mac ? U will have a certified UNIX system and all your config files under a single dir :D

Heh, I don't know how you sensed it, but I AM considering to get a Mac.

Quote::
Blabla, X blabla

It's been 3 years already hearing how things will improve in this respect--i.e., the total time I've been using linux. My card is 5 years old and it works suboptimally--so much so that I installed XP solely to play OA. My laptop's life is approaching its end. Excuse me if I don't hold my breath about anything in this front.

PS. Ti voglio bene!

_________________
"Fuelling off topic babble since day 1."
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Falkland wrote:

This is not a issue ... this is a DEFECT , but none seems to treat that as a defect.

Falkland, just relax.. I think going too in-depth about the politics of how things should be will just cause more frustration :) I also have broken keyboard... lots of em :ops:
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

SnooSnoo wrote:
Is noone interested in the textureless liver? o.O

:) I cant actually remember seeing any gib textures.. or maybe they are part of the mapobjects textures and I haven't got to them yet. I suspect one of jacks plain textures may be covering the real liver. eww I think I'll be leaving the gibs alone but i'm sure it'll be sorted... or maybe it's intentional, fried liver?
Back to top
View user's profile
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Is noone interested in the textureless liver? o.O

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

kernel_panic wrote:

Yeah...so what? How does that justify the inconvenience of having the game data separated in two different locations? Because we're not talking about the typical ~/.config.rc file

And another scenario is that if the game itself was PEREFECT.. then everything would be in the ui. But it's not, therefore regular changes of configs justifies the convenience of being able to edit the functions (which many people may not be aware of) in the game folder.


Anyway, nothing much has changed and benefits most users so pointless discussing it. Nothing to do with going backwards, comments like that just attracts needless discussion :) I guess it can be changed if need be to suit anyway... so...
Back to top
View user's profile
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

kernel_panic wrote:

Yeah...so what? How does that justify the inconvenience of having the game data separated in two different locations?

Maybe because u can obtain always a clean installation while wiping the user dir instead of the WHOLE install dir ?

kernel_panic wrote:

Actually, this causes braindead situations like the ones I experienced with QL, which forces you to install it with administrative privileges; after installation I had to copy all the crap from the administrative account to the normal one.

This is not a issue ... this is a DEFECT , but none seems to treat that as a defect.

kernel_panic wrote:

As I said, this is definitely worse in Windows, with such a confusing filesystem structure. But it's not like in linux everything is OK just because is the way we're used to.
Having all those hidden files cluttering my home directory really pisses me off when, say, I have to open a file with a GUI program and I have to scroll down tons of rubbish to find it. The end result is that no matter how neat and tidy I organise my folders I can't avoid having to go through lines of rubbish I shouldn't have to care about. Was it that difficult to put all that under a hidden _directory_ instead?

Why don't u get a Mac ? U will have a certified UNIX system and all your config files under a single dir :D

And things are already a bit different in Vista and they will be a bit more different on W7.

BTW , in linux the only program that still need administrator/root priviledges to run is X.

The forthcoming kernel version ( 2.6.31 ) will introduce a new features : KMS ( Kernel Mode Setting ) for quite all the video cards and the respectively X driver will be interfaced with it ( Intel -> trhough its OSS driver , ATI -> through the freedesktop.org OSS driver , NVIDIA -> through the Nouveau driver ) .

This implies that resolutions management and screen administration will be done directly by the kernel for both framebuffer and direct rendering ... and X will be confined to only manage windows system while running under its own user as a userspace daemon. But this will imply also that X could be killed for ever and windows management could be done directly through graphic frameworks ( QT? GTK ? ... ?? )

Are u ready for this ? XD
Back to top
View user's profile
Speaker
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Mar 10, 2009
Posts: 57
Location: Szeged, Hungary

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Megagun wrote:
Just hopping in again...
Recently a nice soundpack for Sauerbraten has turned up on the internet...
www.megaupload.com/?d=99DEOMR1
Thread where further updates to this are likely posted: www.cubeengine.com/for...ad_id=2164

There's probably some nice stuff in there. I like the ammo/health/armor pickup and jump/jumppad sounds a lot, myself. Keep in mind that this isn't GPL.

Thanks for the tip. However, if it's not GPL then we cannot put it together in the same game pack with all the other GPLed stuff. Anyway, chiquita has already supplied free replacement sounds, they are great.

Quote::

Regarding the folders issue: keeping everything under the base folder (at least in Windows) is probably best.

In the latest version it is already done, i.e. using a single location is the default, and multiuser setting (separate folder) is a selectable option for anyone who really wishes that. Only for Windows, Linux behavior is the same as before.

Quote::

Regarding playermodels: I'd suggest sticking with a single one to keep things simple, small and clear.

Well, it is a bit complicated by the fact that 'Sarge' appears to be a hard coded default model. And even if we change this in our engine, independently made older mods will always demand Sarge and refuse to run if not present.

In the latest version we have only Sarge, Beret, Grism, Major and Skelebot. IMO these are reasonable models. We can reduce the set to just Sarge and Grism if desirable (although I don't see a real reason for this, and players like a little variation).

Speaker

_________________
0
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website
Megagun
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Jul 20, 2009
Posts: 2
Location: behind my PC?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 12:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Just hopping in again...
Recently a nice soundpack for Sauerbraten has turned up on the internet...
www.megaupload.com/?d=99DEOMR1
Thread where further updates to this are likely posted: www.cubeengine.com/for...ad_id=2164

There's probably some nice stuff in there. I like the ammo/health/armor pickup and jump/jumppad sounds a lot, myself. Keep in mind that this isn't GPL.

Regarding the folders issue: keeping everything under the base folder (at least in Windows) is probably best.

Regarding playermodels: I'd suggest sticking with a single one to keep things simple, small and clear.

_________________
0
Back to top
View user's profile
kernel_panic
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 28, 2007
Posts: 751
Location: uk

PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 12:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Redo OA? Reply with quote

Quote::
Quote::
chiquita wrote:
I cant imagine a queue of people waiting to get on a machine to play the same game.

Having a multiuser environment doesn't strictly mean having a queue of user waiting to play the same game ... in a true multiuser environment u can create a user with restricted access priviledge and running all the programs u want in a relatively more secure environment

Yeah...so what? How does that justify the inconvenience of having the game data separated in two different locations? Because we're not talking about the typical ~/.config.rc file, but about a hidden folder that grows bigger than the game itself throughout time. I take it that in your multiuser environment you run the game off the regular user account, so there's absolutely no need to have per-user settings. Actually, this causes braindead situations like the ones I experienced with QL, which forces you to install it with administrative privileges; after installation I had to copy all the crap from the administrative account to the normal one.

As I said, this is definitely worse in Windows, with such a confusing filesystem structure. But it's not like in linux everything is OK just because is the way we're used to. Having all those hidden files cluttering my home directory really pisses me off when, say, I have to open a file with a GUI program and I have to scroll down tons of rubbish to find it. The end result is that no matter how neat and tidy I organise my folders I can't avoid having to go through lines of rubbish I shouldn't have to care about. Was it that difficult to put all that under a hidden _directory_ instead?

_________________
"Fuelling off topic babble since day 1."
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Maps, Models and Mods All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 7 of 16


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 43
Total: 43
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: The golden pot
02: The golden pot
03: The golden pot
04: The golden pot
05: The golden pot
06: The golden pot
07: The golden pot
08: The golden pot
09: The golden pot
10: The golden pot
11: My Account
12: My Account
13: The golden pot
14: The golden pot
15: The golden pot
16: My Account
17: The golden pot
18: The golden pot
19: The golden pot
20: Home
21: Maps
22: The golden pot
23: The golden pot
24: The golden pot
25: The golden pot
26: My Account
27: Home
28: The golden pot
29: The golden pot
30: My Account
31: The golden pot
32: The golden pot
33: The golden pot
34: Home
35: Home
36: The golden pot
37: The golden pot
38: The golden pot
39: Home
40: The golden pot
41: The golden pot
42: The golden pot
43: The golden pot

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin