the Rainbow Networks
+++eXy FFA
Map: hope
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › RAINBOW NETWORKS › Tech & Support › Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate
Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate
Something wrong with our servers or your system?
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexTech & Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:49 pm    Post subject: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

All the time when running Linux, I have had no issues with either pre-compiled binaries or the ones that I compiled myself. In Windows on the other hand, that's a different story...

I am running a pure default setup of Open Arena now, downloaded the pre-compiled Win32 binaries from ModDB and t3h 0.71 patch.

For some strange reason my monitor locks on to 60hz now, regardless of what resolution Open Arena runs in.

On desktop modes I can run on 90-91k vhz and 85 hhz without problems, it's only when launching the openarena.exe file strange things occur..

I tried setting r_displayrefresh 1 but it didn't do much.

Does someone have similar problems (if yes, how to fix) or could someone running a Windows configuration post their working .cfg here so I could try and figure out what kind of crap is going on here?

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
pulchr
Elite Haxor!
Elite Haxor!


Joined: Oct 23, 2007
Posts: 167
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:25 am    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

com_maxfps 60? :>

_________________
barry white saved my life
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:43 am    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

Dude, in win you have to lock the refresh rate in the display configuration appz. If you have the new pc then youre running the new nvidia card. The new nv control panel is pretty fucked up, but in the olden days you could set the refresh for every possible resolution. Riva tuner is a good tool for gfx cards but it has LOADS of options. Try it but i think youll get lost in all the otions there.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Derity
Forum Addict
Forum Addict


Joined: Aug 23, 2007
Posts: 257
Location: 49°14' 7°00'

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:38 am    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

its the stupid windows, had same problem when i played cs...

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

I think my windows config is kicking around somewhere..

I think the important thing is to enable gl drivers which i think is in the menu.

Make sure software drivers/extensions (r_allowso*?) are disabled.

I also get poor fps etc but it seems typical of what to expect with the texture detail etc. I will compare them both as well
Back to top
View user's profile
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

Everybody, in windows if you have a crt monitor the default fullscreen refresh rate for any resolution is 60Hz (yes stupid win), but there are custom refresh rates that can be defined in the gfx drivers control panels. The OA/Q3 cfg has nothing to do with that.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:31 am    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

uh, say what?

I need to set crt monitor resolution to fixed value in graphic settings?

This is still one of the old machines I'm using though, but I was curious on testing some games I got from a friend of mine at ubi, that's the reason for the switch to windows. I spent almost 3 hours last night solving crimes in CSI:Hard evidence :)

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 1:28 pm    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

No, you can set refresh rates you wish for each resolution separatley in the nvidia control panel. Now in ati's control panel you can set the refresh rate you wish also, but it has a neat option Refresh rate override: "Same as desktop" in the control panel.

Sidenote: in the older nV control panel you had to use a registry hack to unlock the more "advanced" options for the control panel among wich there was the "refrehs rates override" option with a field with all supported resolutions for your gfx. Now the new nV control panel is fucked up and since its there i had a LCD so i didnt bother to find where are the refresh rate overrides. But if you use sub ver100 of forceware download this to enable the advanced options.

PS: lol "hard evidence" , thought all you needed is me to get hard evidence on :blarg:

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 7:16 am    Post subject: Re: Open Arena, Windows and poor refresh rate Reply with quote

Snoo, I don't need evidence that you have a hardon :)
Thanks, I'll try to see if I can get refresh running as it should with this..

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Tech & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 40
Total: 40
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: The golden pot
02: My Account
03: The golden pot
04: The golden pot
05: My Account
06: The golden pot
07: My Account
08: My Account
09: The golden pot
10: My Account
11: My Account
12: Home
13: The golden pot
14: The golden pot
15: The golden pot
16: The golden pot
17: The golden pot
18: The golden pot
19: Maps
20: The golden pot
21: The golden pot
22: The golden pot
23: The golden pot
24: The golden pot
25: The golden pot
26: Home
27: The golden pot
28: The golden pot
29: The golden pot
30: The golden pot
31: The golden pot
32: My Account
33: The golden pot
34: The golden pot
35: The golden pot
36: The golden pot
37: My Account
38: The golden pot
39: The golden pot
40: My Account

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin