the Rainbow Networks
+++eXy FFA
Map: q3dm5
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › DEV › Maps, Models and Mods › Redo OA?
Redo OA?
There are worlds waiting to be explored and objects to be made. Enjoy.
Go to page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexMaps, Models and Mods
View previous topic :: View next topic  
a_clown
Happy Camper
Happy Camper

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Redo OA? Reply with quote

As you can see: OA is taking its last breath, there are only a few serious players and many of them told they will go to ql(when its available for linux) or go back to q3 and so on.

OA is so "ultracrowded" with noobs(im not against noobs...im a noob too...but i think many of them only play this game to shoot a bit) its not funny!

I think everyone knows the reasons?

-the std maps are so crappy( i dont mean pulctf and so on...these are great ), i dont know why maps like oa_bases are in this game? And these maps are the most played ones, because u can stand still during instagib ctf camping?

-every server is full of bots, there are ctf servers with 8 bots?

-the sound is not good( i cannot even hear the armor sound * klickklack *), or take the RG sound, wuuuuah?

-the models are so bad... *puke*

-leilol is against competitive features(but these would keep the community alive->look at warsow)

What can we do? Quit OA and go back to q3 or ql?
We could start a new q3-like game project with:

-balanced weapons: i dont think this game needs proxmines, nailgun, chaingun and bfg? Lightning-gun in oa is overpowered, should be fixed. We could play a bit around with other things too( railgun damage down? )

-keep vq3-like-physics ( fps-independend )

-build in competitive features, we need "gamer-developers" :
1.brightskins or better pm-skins
2.good sounds
3. serverdemo recording
4. Better Tourney-features
5. ...

-good gametypes:
dm (i know its not good...)
TDM
CTF
?One Flag CTF?
Freezetag