the Rainbow Networks
RN|VQ3 DEFRAG
Map: si
Players: 0 / 18

+++eXy FFA
Map: q3tourney3
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › RAINBOW NETWORKS › Tech & Support › [SOLVED]Broken map/server?
[SOLVED]Broken map/server?
Something wrong with our servers or your system?
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexTech & Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 6:46 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Hi. Again xD. I was playing VQ3 runs with fo and we voted for k4n and then we couldnt join.

I was stuck in that loading screen a LONG time in the "awaiting snapshot" part... Until I killed oa. I can join other defrag servers no problem. Very weird.

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to


Last edited by riwa on Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

It seems a problem of a too low timeout or so ... the client takes too much to load the map and the server sends the connection request in timeout .

The server correctly replies to the getinfo command, so I don't think it's a server-related problem ...
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Weird. What should I do then? The map loads fine in CPM 081. But not at all in VQ3. So I cant play fastcaps :(

Its the only map i cant load on that server.. But as I cant join I cant change :(

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:19 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

riwa wrote:
Weird. What should I do then? The map loads fine in CPM 081. But not at all in VQ3. So I cant play fastcaps :(

Its the only map i cant load on that server.. But as I cant join I cant change :(

They should have to increase server timeout on RN|VQ3 RUNS
Back to top
View user's profile
Delucia
Admin
Admin


Joined: May 26, 2008
Posts: 100
Location: Zambia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:35 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

i had same problem...check this;
rainbow.furver.se/inde...pic&t=1207




P.S. (urgent method)
or you can change r_vertexlight to 1..."Less graphic Speedy loading time"....

_________________
Sometimes I feel like Screaming
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Thanks.. But that problem doesnt seem to apply to me since I CAN RUN k4n perfect offline.. Just not on that server..

But I found this:

WARNING: cg_readnextsnapshot way out of range: 1821 > 699

Is this the problem??

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

riwa wrote:
Thanks.. But that problem doesnt seem to apply to me since I CAN RUN k4n perfect offline.. Just not on that server..

But I found this:

WARNING: cg_readnextsnapshot way out of range: 1821 > 699

Is this the problem??

Yes ... your client stored a number of snapshots , but after loading the map just tries to read ahead the next snapshots ... icreasing the timeout on the server should work ( but I'm not sure )

Anyway the RN|VQ3 RUN defrag version is 19113 while the latest is 19117 ( RN|CPM runs this one )

Increasing com_zoneMegs is ignored if readed by config or assigned in console : set it higher by command line ( +set com_zoneMegs <value> ) .
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 3:36 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Are you playing openarena by any chance?
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 1:30 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Falkland.. Im on Windoze so no command-line magic here. zonemegs is 32 i think. But still I dont see how it can be my computer since it loads fine both offline and on: CPM 081 AND supeR's server. I guess it has to do with the version or something..

Pope told me to move the zz files in /defrag which it did, but then it compained about server client incompatible (or some like that)..

So all maps except xpress and k4n work on that server too..

Weird.. And annoying to change server when i wanna play k4n...


chiquita: yes im on oa.

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:29 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Tried increasing cl_timeout? I never found that useful..

I dont think moving the maps will help. i think the entire file system is read

q3eu.com/site/modules....up&guid=20

So... in baseoa/baseq3... view the files in list mode... put the largest maps in a new folder and take it out of the game structure altogether.. even put it on your desktop.

Having lots of maps causes a delay in joining a game. But it does sound like a memory issue, i think falkland is right but i wouldnt increase any memory settings. I would just try and keep a kinda clean file system.

If your map loads stop at loading world map message its definately a memory issue
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 2:32 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

oh.. and having lots of maps on a server will also affect it.. Me and 'the doc' who was very strict :) got the osp server running so there wasnt even a delay during intermission. so if the server has lots of maps, and you have too... thats the issue
Back to top
View user's profile
riwa
Happy Camper
Happy Camper


Joined: Apr 02, 2009
Posts: 23
Location: Lund, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:23 am    Post subject: Re: Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Yeah dude. Deleted all my pornstar-maps and now it works.. Strange problem..

Developers are aware I suppose?

Thanks!!

_________________
\"Men, we led those dumb bugs out to the middle of nowhere to keep \'em from gettin\' their filthy claws on Earth. But, we stumbled onto somethin\' they\'re so hot for, that they\'re scramblin\' over each other to
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
SnooSnoo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 18, 2007
Posts: 1453
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:55 am    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED]Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Chiqui is not a dude.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
PopeJo
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Oct 05, 2007
Posts: 931
Location: precise!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED]Broken map/server? Reply with quote

yes riwa, they are. its been fixed server-side, but not at the client side of the MOD, afaik.

you would not have had to delete the maps. there are other solutions. see here (point 6)
www.breakdown-hq.com/a...efrag.html

_________________
LOGIC, n.
The art of thinking and reasoning in strict accordance with the limitations and incapacities of the human misunderstanding. (Devil's dictionary)
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Falkland
Übergod
Übergod


Joined: Aug 01, 2008
Posts: 922
Location: Nowhere

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:07 pm    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED]Broken map/server? Reply with quote

Uh ???

So it was related to this : rainbow.furver.se/inde...pic&t=1313
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Tech & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Go to page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 27
Total: 27
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: Rainbow Media
02: Maps
03: The golden pot
04: My Account
05: Rainbow Media
06: Maps
07: Home
08: The golden pot
09: The golden pot
10: The golden pot
11: Home
12: Maps
13: Rainbow Media
14: Rainbow Media
15: My Account
16: The golden pot
17: Maps
18: Rainbow Media
19: Rainbow Media
20: The golden pot
21: Home
22: The golden pot
23: Home
24: The golden pot
25: The golden pot
26: Maps
27: The golden pot

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin