the Rainbow Networks
RN|VQ3 DEFRAG
Map: pornstar-15percent
Players: 0 / 18

+++eXy FFA
Map: q3dm12
Players: 2 / 18
The golden pot › RAINBOW NETWORKS › Tech & Support › Invisible player are visible for me
Invisible player are visible for me
Something wrong with our servers or your system?
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum IndexTech & Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Apprentice
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Sep 10, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 11:35 pm    Post subject: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

Hi all!

I switched from ATI to NVIDIA coz i burned my ATI card.
Now i face the following problem:

I cant play with gamma 1.0 and intensity 1.0 coz its much too dark ( Pic 1 )
If i set gamma to 1.2 and intensity 1.2 then it looks like Pic 2 and i can play.
But look picture 3. There is an invisible bot jumping down. No problem to spot and shoot.
I dont change anything else in the config! All is default except gamma and intensity!

I play with the latest linux nvidia driver.
Is this a driver problem or can this be fixed in next version of OA?


Apprentice



gam_1.0_int_1.0.jpg
 Description:
Pic 1 Gamma 1.0 intensity 1.0 ALL settings default OA but i cant play coz its much to dark ...
 Filesize:  235.23 KB
 Viewed:  3799 Time(s)

gam_1.0_int_1.0.jpg


gam_1.2_int_1.2.jpg
 Description:
Pic 2 Gamma set to 1.2 and intensity set to 1.2
ALL other settings are default OA settings.
Now i can see enougth to play.
 Filesize:  304.15 KB
 Viewed:  3799 Time(s)

gam_1.2_int_1.2.jpg


gam_1.2_int_1.2_invis_bot.jpg
 Description:
Pic 3 Now invisible players are easy to spot :(
 Filesize:  347.76 KB
 Viewed:  3799 Time(s)

gam_1.2_int_1.2_invis_bot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:09 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

In your q3config.cfg there are probably old entires of your ATI card being used. Check for things like last_valid_renderer, or simply rename your config and start the game again, it will then generate a new config for you.

In your case it seems to have 'intensity' messed up.

I know that some players (hello chiquita) likes brightOverBits and other settings to make it brighter, like most players do (no, it's not cheating).

I haven't seen that problem before but a similar issue is if you increase r_gamma and use vertex lightning, then you see outlines of invisible players.

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:17 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

I dont think its a problem, if your using XP that has these kind of effects with different drivers. Try intensity slightly higher than gamma. Also, try r_overbright* between 1 and 2, i dont know if 0.5 or slight changes will work. This may help the difference between the dark and bright bits. Looks like you either have the light bits too bright and the dark bits too dark :D

When changing overbrightbits you may need to adjust gamma, but with a bit of messing around you can get good results and easier to see movement much clearer.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:22 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

W1ZrD wrote:
settings to make it brighter, like most players do (no, it's not cheating).

yea like it would make a difference to your wall bug cheats :D I dont think it makes it brighter.. its just same as changing gamma except it only affects certain areas on lightmap ;P

I prefer it alot darker but its impossible to see the enemy.. especially camped ones on big maps with grapple :D

actually i think it might be r_mapoverbrigh.. that needs changed. its one of the two, but one of them will make the contrast difference worse, the other will reduce it. Then when it looks ok you can then increase gamma if you find it a bit dark.. or if you want to adjust it on another map.

here are my settings from a half decent config.. i dont think its a recent one as im sure i use overbright bits.. but obviously other settings can also make differences but one you get it right you dont need to bother about it again if you remember what you change


Quote::
seta r_bloom_fast_sample "0"
seta r_bloom_sample_size "128"
seta r_bloom_darken "4"
seta r_bloom_intensity "1.3"
seta r_bloom_diamond_size "8"
seta r_bloom_alpha "0.3"
seta r_bloom "0"
seta r_GLlibCoolDownMsec "0"
seta r_primitives "0"
seta r_railSegmentLength "72"
seta r_railCoreWidth "3"
seta r_railWidth "4"
seta r_facePlaneCull "1"
seta r_gamma "1.6"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST"
seta r_finish "0"
seta r_dlightBacks "1"
seta r_dynamiclight "1"
seta r_drawSun "0"
seta r_fastsky "0"
seta r_ignoreGLErrors "1"
seta r_flares "0"
seta r_lodbias "1"
seta r_lodCurveError "250"
seta r_ignoreFastPath "1"
seta r_smp "0"
seta r_subdivisions "12"
seta r_vertexLight "0"
seta r_simpleMipMaps "1"
seta r_customPixelAspect "1"
seta r_customheight "1024"
seta r_customwidth "1600"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_mode "4"
seta r_ignorehwgamma "0"
seta r_overBrightBits "0"
seta r_depthbits "0"
seta r_stencilbits "0"
seta r_stereo "0"
seta r_colorbits "0"
seta r_texturebits "0"
seta r_detailtextures "1"
seta r_roundImagesDown "1"
seta r_picmip "1"
seta r_ext_max_anisotropy "2"
seta r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "0"
seta r_ext_texture_env_add "1"
seta r_ext_compiled_vertex_array "1"
seta r_ext_multitexture "1"
seta r_ext_gamma_control "1"
seta r_ext_compressed_textures "0"
seta r_allowExtensions "1"
seta r_glDriver "opengl32"
Back to top
View user's profile
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:58 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

Chick:
Sometimes in official tournaments and competitions there are rules that state that r_gamma may not be higher than 1.4. So wallbugs in OA are worth more than your brightness :)


Apprentice:
What you should look for is
Code::
seta r_lastValidRenderer "Here you see your gfx card"
seta r_glDriver "libGL.so.1"
completely remove the r_lastValidRenderer and then start the game again, it will create a new entry for you.
Make sure you are using the correct drivers and have the libraries installed.

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:09 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

"official tournaments"

These should be banned! I would never change my gamma if someone came out with that crap :) That is so sad! People have different hardware/monitors with brightness settings that do the same thing, so i would insist they find out the lamp brightness of their screen, room lighting ambience then adjust their settings to suit me and then have a fair game :)

In Q3 it's different from OA though. There are settings which can make models really bright. I dont think it helps you play better though. In OA the models have detailed textures so they can easily camp you on big maps and then use fov to shoot you at last point? Fuck that. :)

In vertex mode its much easier to see, there is no dark spots. i only use lightmap because it looks better.
Back to top
View user's profile
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:15 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

'official tournaments as in on-site where everyone has the same setup/monitors' :)

I use vertex lightning because this machine can't handle lightmap well, bla bla bla bla...

As for you chick, I know you're cheating because you rail my @ss off :)

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 11:33 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

Appi:
I cross-posted this on the OA forums to see if we can get this fixed for you, the more people to help; the better chance of success :)

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Apprentice
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Sep 10, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

Hi W1zrd!

I cleaned up my config before the screenshots! I delete old config file as u suggest to me when we talk on defrag server :) So it is an absolute clean default config except the two settings of gamma and intensity. NOTHING else is changed! As u can see in screenshot 1 i cant play with original gamma and intensity. Card : Gf6600gt Driver version 169.09

Now i will test this under win xp. Maybe there is a difference.
I will post results here. Hope this can be fixed!

Apprentice
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Apprentice
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: Sep 10, 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

Hi!

I also checked it under Windows XP. It is exact the same problem. So its not the Linux Nvidia driver or something. Try it! Default config with nothing changed but gamma ( set to 1.2 default 1.0 ) and intensity ( set to 1.2 default 1.0 )
This must be fixed or invisibility is totally useless!
Maybe some other player can test the same with other GFX cards.


Apprentice
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
pulchr
Elite Haxor!
Elite Haxor!


Joined: Oct 23, 2007
Posts: 167
Location: sweden

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:59 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

strange, but what's even more strange is what i got when i turned on the cg_draw_matrix 1 setting:



cg_draw_matrix_1_invis_bot.jpg
 Description:
weird huh?
i say the invisibility is useless when turning on the matrix!
 Filesize:  153.32 KB
 Viewed:  3737 Time(s)

cg_draw_matrix_1_invis_bot.jpg


_________________
barry white saved my life
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
chiquita
Alpacas Approved
Alpacas Approved


Joined: Sep 01, 2007
Posts: 1410
Location: psychiatric ward

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:18 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

This is a joke.. right? :D
Back to top
View user's profile
W1ZrD
Founder
Founder


Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 1108
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:40 am    Post subject: Re: Invisible player are visible for me Reply with quote

chiquita wrote:
This is a joke.. right? :D
try it chiq ^^
I dare you..

_________________
- Carl Sandburg -

Nothing happens unless first we dream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index -> Tech & Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1


Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Welcome Anonymous


Membership:
Latest: kontol
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Overall: 355

People Online:
Members: 0
Visitors: 40
Total: 40
Who Is Where:
 Visitors:
01: The golden pot
02: The golden pot
03: The golden pot
04: The golden pot
05: Home
06: The golden pot
07: Maps
08: Maps
09: The golden pot
10: The golden pot
11: The golden pot
12: The golden pot
13: The golden pot
14: The golden pot
15: The golden pot
16: My Account
17: My Account
18: The golden pot
19: My Account
20: Maps
21: The golden pot
22: The golden pot
23: Servers & High Scores
24: The golden pot
25: Rainbow Media
26: The golden pot
27: The golden pot
28: The golden pot
29: My Account
30: The golden pot
31: The golden pot
32: The golden pot
33: The golden pot
34: The golden pot
35: Rainbow Media
36: The golden pot
37: The golden pot
38: The golden pot
39: The golden pot
40: Maps

Staff Online:

No staff members are online!

The Rainbow Networks website is hosted by JockeTF and Soder on furver.se.

The Rainbow Networks
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy
Azul theme and related images designed by Jamin